Delhi LPP

Contact Us

Blogs & News

Outer Delhi Population Gets Metro Relief

Posted By : May 10 2016

Posted On : Delhi LPP

Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has introduced a new metro line in its 4th phase of expansion in the areas of outer Delhi. The proposed line will be 18.6 km in length with an elevated track covering 18 stations benefitting outer population of Ranahaula, Najafgarh and Aman Vihar. The construction is planned in two installments, Dwarka to Kanjawal(near Rohini) in the first and from Kanjawal to Prem Piao in the North West Delhi in the second.

DMRC gave a detailed report to Delhi government for six new corridors which are Rithala – Narela, Janakpuri West – RK Ashram, Mukundpur – Maujpur, Inderlok – Indrapastha, Tuglakabad – Aerocity and Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block. However, government of Delhi has given green signal to all the corriders except for the Lajpat Nagar – Saket G Block. According to the sources, Terminal 1 station would get connected by the Yellow Line in Saket, Violet Line in Tuglakabad and Magenta Line to the Terminal station. Also, 38 stations are to be extended from Janakpuri West to Botanical Garden on Magenta Line which is under construction.

This 4th expansion will add 75 stations to the Delhi metro network. The DMRC has fixed a deadline of 2021 with 64.39 km of line elevated and 31.47 km underground. The advantages of this 4th phase would benefit approximately 60 lac people extending the daily ridership to an aggregate of 40 lac people. The planning is made such that the outer population of Delhi would further benefit as the important junctures of phase 1, 2 and 3 will be connected to this phase. This would greatly reduce time as well as expense. The layout of the stations would be keeping mind the population and the traffic generated in a particular area.

Completion of this phase in 2021 will be a landmark for Delhi, as by the end of this phase, the total length of metro in Delhi-Ncr would go up to 434 km, 32 km more than the London Underground Tube.